Among the photos from the Louis Flora collection donated to Historic Bremen is one of the house at 303 N Center St, a house where (the back of the photo indicates) his great-grandfather James Bates had lived at one time and which was later owned by Ada Dietrich and also Dr H B Furst.

About 1895

A little digging in the Bremen Enquirer reveals the house was built in 1891 by H G Hess, who came to Bremen in 1889 to be the cashier at the new Union Bank. It was bought in quick succession by Jacob Beyler, then James Bates, and then J R Dietrich, who gave it to his son Urban. The piano-and-later-car-dealer and his wife Ada owned it for many years until selling to the new dentist in town, Dr Furst, in 1949.

Furst-Buck house - c1980
Furst-Buck house – c1980

The house has changed a great deal over the years. Most of those changes must have come in 1911, when Urban Dietrich did extensive remodeling, as reported in the Enquirer. The result is grand and charming.

2013, from Google Street View
2013 – from Google Street View

Note the limestone inserts in the brick, which are still visible even tho they’ve been painted along with the brick.

Today, this beautiful house is owned by the Buck family.